69th College National Finals Rodeo Underway In Wyoming

Lane McGehee

By: Susan Kanode

The 69th annual College National Finals Rodeo kicked off on Sunday with the Bulls, Broncs, & Breakaway performance.

Nearly 400 contestants have made their way to Wyoming after having qualified by competing at rodeos in 11 different geographic regions. Each of them will have three opportunities per event and hope to be among the top 12 who advance to the Championship Finals on Saturday, June 17, where national champions will be crowned.

The first round of bareback riding, bull riding, and breakaway roping were completed Sunday. There is one rider in the saddle bronc riding who has a chance to change the leaderboard on Monday. Times were fast in the breakaway roping with two women finishing at the top. Brandi Epps from Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Kenzley Wilson from the University of Tennessee-Martin each roped a calf in 2.3 seconds. That got their teams off to a good start with 75 points each.

In the bareback riding, it was Lane McGehee from Sam Houston State University who won the first round with 80.5 points. Will Martin from Panhandle State University was second with 78.5. After Martin rode, he got to watch his teammate Cody Ballard win the bull riding with 81.5 points.

The men's team at Panhandle State University, which is located in Goodwell, OK, earned 150 points with these two rides and will be hoping to add to it and get another national championship for the Aggies.

Preston Burr from New Mexico Junior College, located in Hobbs, leads the saddle bronc riding after scoring 78.5 points. Burr's coach, Marty Eakin, won the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association saddle bronc riding championship in 2004. Cody Crim from Missouri Valley College is the lone saddle bronc rider yet to compete in the first round. Rodeo officials gave him the option of a re-ride, which he will take on Monday.

The first round of saddle bronc riding as well as steer wrestling, team roping, tie-down roping, barrel racing, and goat tying will be completed Monday during slack. The second round will start at 7 AM for bareback, saddle bronc, and bull riders as well as breakaway ropers.


Breakaway Roping: (first-round winners) 1, (tie) Brandi Epps, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Kenzley Wilson, University of Tennessee -- Martin, 2.3 seconds each. 3, Ryanne Tracy, Montana State University, 2.4. 4, (tie) Blair Bullock, University of West Alabama and Mia Manzanares, McNeese State University, 2.5. 6, Cassie Bahe, College of Southern Idaho, 2.6. 7, (tie) Hannah Springer, Southern Arkansas University; Loni Lester, Sam Houston State University and Shaylee Thacker, Utah Valley University, 2.7.
Bareback Riding: (first-round winners) 1, Lane McGehee, Sam Houston State University, 80.5 points. 2, Will Martin, Panhandle State University, 78.5. 3, Cache Hill, University of Great Falls, 78. 4, Kody Lamb, Tarleton State University, 77.5. 5, Chance Ames, Sheridan College, 77. 6, (tie) Rowdy Moon, Mid-Plains Community College; Tristan Hansen, University of Montana -- Western; and Rio Lee, Cochise College; 74.5 points each.
Saddle Bronc Riding: (first-round leaders) 1, Preston Burr, New Mexico Junior College, 78.5 points. 2, Brody Cress, Tarleton State University, 76.5. 3, Blaise Freeman, Western Texas College, 75. 4, Logan cook, Panola Junior College, 74. 5, Will Centoni, Cuesta College, 73.5. 6, Jalen Joaquin, Cochise College, 72.5. 7, Johnny Espeland, Blue Mountain Community College, 72. 8, Parker Kempfer, Sam Houston State University, 70.5.
Bull Riding: (first-round winners) 1, Cody Ballard, Panhandle State University, 81.5 points. 2, Ruger Piva, University of Montana -- Western, 80. 3, Chase Dougherty, Montana State University, 77.5. Kolton White, South Eastern Oklahoma State University and Coloe Melancon, Hill College, 76.5. 6, Aaron Williams, Cal Poly State University -- San Luis Obispo, 74. 7, Cody Hudson, Walla Walla Community College, 73.5. 4, Jake Davis, Northwest College, 73.

Information Courtesy of CollegeRodeo.com

Like what you see? Sign up for our newsletter to stay current on all the latest rodeo news and your favorite content from FloRodeo.

Cayla Small Leads Denver With First Runs Back From Injury

Courtesy of Cayla Small Cayla Small Barrel Racer

Cayla Small was injured in the fall and told not to get on the back of a horse until January 20. But when she drew up at the Denver National Western Stock Show and Rodeo on January 11, the 2016 WPRA Rookie of the Year had to cut her recovery time down.

Canadian Finals Rodeo Goes To Red Deer For Ten Years

By Katy Lucas Canadian Finals Rodeo Announcement

“This is a great day for rodeo in Canada,” said Terry Cooke, president of the CPRA.

Scott Guenthner Wins Montana Pro Rodeo Circuit Finals Title

Scott Guenthner Steer Wrestling

The 12 circuit finals offer competitors a chance to take advantage of their success from the rodeo season before and turn it in to some extra cash for next season’s world standings. That was on Scott Guenthner’s mind as he headed to Great Falls for the Montana Pro Rodeo Circuit Finals.

Daylon Swearingen Wins All-Around At First Frontier Circuit Finals

Courtesy of Daylon Swearingen Daylon Swearingen All Around Cowboy

A youngster from Piffard, New York, turned heads during his debut at the First Frontier Circuit Finals over the weekend in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Eighteen-year-old Daylon Swearingen rode out of the finals with titles in bull riding and the all-around, as well as a spot in his first RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo (RNCFR) this spring.

Shane Proctor Chases All Around Title, Just Like Ty Murray Once Did

© Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports USATSI_9739706_168383134_lowres.jpg

Veteran rodeo fans will remember a time when the king of the cowboys rode bucking stock, a time when Ty Murray won seven all-around titles while competing in the bull riding, bareback riding, and saddle bronc riding.

A Year Later, Impact Of Ty Pozzobon's Passing Felt Deeply In Rodeo

Provided by Leanne Pozzobon Ty Pozzobon

One year ago yesterday, the rodeo world lost a very talented cowboy.

George Taylor Named CEO Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association

© Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports Clay Smith and Paul Eaves 2016 NFR

George Taylor will begin his position as chief executive officer of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) on January 22. The PRCA recently named the former executive with Caterpillar its CEO after Karl Stressman retired from his nine-year role as commissioner of the association.

Could the ELD Mandate Affect Rodeo Competitors?

© Daniel Clark-USA TODAY Sports USATSI_10474513_168383134_lowres.jpg

Rodeo competitors and others who travel with horses for competition have many unanswered questions for the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s hours of service (HOS) and resulting electronic logging device (ELD) mandate that came into effect on December 18, 2017.

Jake Vold Starts Physiotherapy After 2017 WNFR Knee Injury

Jake Vold - Bareback Rider

Three-time Canadian bareback riding champion Jake Vold began physiotherapy thursday after injuring his knee at the 2017 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (WNFR) in Las Vegas. 

2018 Standings: Who's In The Driver's Seat?

© Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports Sage Kimzey 2016 NFR

We may just be a few days in to 2018, but we’re already well in to the 2018 rodeo season with over 30 rodeo events in the books. Competitors are rising to the top of the standings early in the season.